2018 SVCB BUSINESS CALENDAR

 

January: Braille Literacy and Glaucoma Awareness Months.

 

Jan 2, 5:30 to 7 PM: Breast Cancer Support Group. Call-in: 605-715-4920; ID: 2776167. For questions, call Lori Scharff at 516-887-1336, or lorischarff@gmail.com.

 

Thu. Jan 4: Louis Braille's birthday

 

Mon. Jan 8: SVCB Board Meeting. Modify/accept this calendar, appoint Picnic Committee.

 

Jan 16, 5:30 to 7 PM: Let's Talk Low Vision, “Trends In Transportation.”

 

Sat. Jan 20: SVCB ANNUAL meeting). New officers take office, approve this calendar, introduce Picnic Committee chair to recommend a site for August picnic, elect delegates for CCB conference and convention.

 

Fri. Jan 26: February newsletter deadline. Distribute 2018 budget.

 

Sun. Jan 28: Membership dues are due to avoid disruption of newsletter subscription.

 

February: Eye donor awareness month.

 

Thu. Feb 1: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. Feb 10: Deadline for membership dues payment to CCB.

 

Feb 17: Monthly meeting.  Approve 2018 budget.

 

Feb 20, 5:30 to 7 PM: Let’s Talk Low Vision,

 

Feb 23, noon: March newsletter deadline.

 

Sat. Feb 24 through Tue. Feb 27: ACB affiliate presidents' meeting and legislative seminar. Capitol Hill Day is Tue. Feb 27.  Meetings take place at the Crowne Plaza Old Town Alexandria, located at 901 N. Fairfax St., Alexandria, VA 22314. Visit register.acb.org/.

 

March:

 

Sat. Mar 3: Northern California Braille Challenge at the Santa Clara Valley Blind Center, 101 North Bascom Ave. San Jose, CA 95128 . Contact Alice Turner, aturner@vistacenter.org, 650-858-0202.

 

Thu. Mar 1: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. Mar 17: Monthly meeting. Discuss resolutions for CCB Convention.

 

Mon, Mar. 19 to Mar. 23: 33nd annual CSUN Conference in San Diego at the Manchester Grant Hyatt Hotel, San Diego. Visit www.csun.edu/cod/conference/.

 

Thu. Mar 22 to 25: Annual CCB Conference and Convention, Sacramento Marriott Rancho Cordova, 11211 Point East Way, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742, Phone: (916) 638-1100.

 

Fri. Mar 23: April newsletter deadline. Distribute spring membership list.

 

April:

 

Thu. Apr 5: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Thu. Apr 12 to Apr 15: 59th California Transcribers and Educators for the Blind and Visually Impaired (CTEbVI) conference at the LAX Airport Marriott in Los Angeles, CA.

 

Sat. Apr 21: monthly meeting. Present award recipient of 2017 Barbara Rhodes Adaptive Technology Grant, Hear Convention Reports.

 

Fri. Apr 27: May newsletter deadline. Publish CCB convention reports.

 

May: Healthy Vision Month.

 

Thu. May 3: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. May 19: Monthly meeting. 

 

Fri. May 25: June newsletter deadline.

 

June: Vision Research Month.

 

Thu. June 7: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. June 16: Monthly meeting. Finalize picnic plans. Remind members to acquire prizes.

 

Fri. June 22: July newsletter deadline.

 

Wed. June 27: Helen Keller Day.

 

July:

 

Fri. June 29 to Fri. Jul 6: ACB Conference and Convention, Union Station Hotel, 1820 Market Street, St Louis, Missouri, 60123;. Reservations: 314-231-1234.

 

Thu. Jul 12: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. Jul 21: Monthly meeting. Begin plans for White Cane Safety Day and Employment of People With Disabilities Awareness month, appoint Holiday Party Committee chair.

 

Fri. Jul 27: August newsletter deadline.

 

August:

 

Thu. Aug 2: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. Aug 18: Picnic in lieu of monthly meeting.

 

Fri. Aug 24: September newsletter deadline.

 

September:

 

Thu. Sept 6: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. Sept 15: Monthly meeting. Announce Nominating Committee, informally consider amendments for Constitution or Bylaws, begin planning for Braille Literacy Month, remind members to acquire prizes for holiday party, and hear ACB convention reports.

 

Fri. Sept 21: October newsletter deadline. Distribute Constitution and Bylaws if necessary.

 

October: Employment of People With Disabilities Awareness Month.

 

Thu. Oct 4: SVCB Board meeting. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Mon. Oct 15: White Cane Safety Day. [I think this is now Blind Americans Equality Day. Ask Alice!]

 

Sat. Oct 20: Monthly meeting. Formally consider Constitution and Bylaws amendments.

 

Fri. Oct 26: November newsletter deadline. Distribute fall membership list, publish slate of 2019 SVCB candidates.

 

November:

 

Thu. Nov 1: SVCB Board meeting. Review Nominating Committee candidate slate; get volunteers for 2019 business calendar and Budget Committees. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. Nov 17: 31th anniversary meeting. Elect officers for 2019, announce Budget Committee.

 

Fri. Nov 23: December newsletter deadline.

 

December:

 

Thu. Dec 6: SVCB Board meeting. Review 2019 Business Calendar. Call-in: 800-662-6992; ID: 1184109. If you're not on the Board but wish to attend, contact president Susan Glass.

 

Sat. Dec 15: Provisionary holiday party in lieu of monthly meeting.

 

Wed. Dec 26: January, 2019 newsletter deadline.